Bridge Dedication Ceremony Held in Floyd County

A bridge in Floyd County has been named in memorial of a Korean War Veteran. A ceremony was held on Saturday afternoon on KY-680 to name a bridge near Harold the “Leo Roberts Memorial Bridge.” Roberts was a Floyd County native who died in 2002 as a result of a car accident. Family members say Roberts was very deserving of the honor and would have been humbled for the dedication.

Appalachian Air Project Stalled

(AP) - An effort to provide commercial air service between Pikeville, Ky., and Nashville, Tenn., and has stalled. Appalachian Air had been scheduled to start offering flights last week. Media reported that the initiative has been delayed because the airport in Pikeville hasn’t yet obtained all the proper certifications. Officials with the city, the airport board and the Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce have been working on the initiative for four years. They said the setback is disappointing but temporary. Pikeville officials say they are working diligently to get the proper approvals. There is no timetable on when commercial flights might begin.

Eastern Ky. University to be Tobacco-Free Campus

RICHMOND, Ky. (AP) - Eastern Kentucky University’s Board of Regents has approved a tobacco-free campus policy. The Richmond Register reports that effective June 1, the use of tobacco on all property that is owned, leased, occupied or controlled by the university will be prohibited. The tobacco-free policy, which replaces the smoke-free zone policy that had been in effect since 2006, covers all Eastern facilities and grounds. It also prohibits the use of tobacco in vehicles owned, leased or rented by EKU, as well as in personal vehicles while on university property. The university joins more than 1,100 colleges and universities nationwide that have enacted similar tobacco-free policies.

Shooting Outside Lexington Restaurant

A calm Easter Sunday morning turned violent outside a Lexington restaurant. Police say shots were fired outside of the Waffle House on Tates Creek Road. It started with an argument between a man and a woman in the parking lot of the restaurant when investigators say things got out of hand and shots were fired. Those involved reportedly left immediately in two separate vehicles.

Ky. Academic Standards to Get Review

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) - Kentucky residents will get a chance to review state academic standards later this year and suggest changes. Education Commissioner Terry Holliday told the Lexington Herald-Leader that the initiative called the Kentucky Core Academic Standards Challenge will begin in the fall. He says the project isn’t a reaction to criticism of the national Common Core standards, on which Kentucky’s standards are based. Instead, Holliday said he has always maintained that the state standards should be formally reviewed after about five years. Kentucky Core Academic Standards were implemented in 2010. Holliday said a group of higher education professionals, business leaders and teachers will use the public feedback to make revisions.

New Rescue Squad Facility in Floyd County

The Floyd County Rescue Squad has now moved into their new facilities on Cliff Road in Prestonsburg. The Floyd County Times is reporting on their web site that although the grand opening ceremony is still a month away, the new headquarters are up and running. The project has been about a year in the making. The newspaper reports the rescue squad has several things planned along with the grand opening, including tours and the revealing of a monument outside the new facility.

Six Arrested in Johnson County in “Operation: Spring Clean”

Another drug roundup on Thursday in Johnson County. Operation: Spring Clean has landed six people behind bars, all facing drug charges. A total of thirteen people were targeted in Thursday’s roundup. Some of those not arrested yesterday are apparently not in the area, but officials say some have contacted Sheriff Price’s office saying they will turn themselves in. Those arrested on Thursday include Angle Castle-Yamo, Bobby Dale, Kelly LeMaster, Henry Lowe, Jonathan Mollette, and Candi Price.

Pikeville Doctor Pleads Guilty

A Pikeville doctor pleaded guilty in federal court to conspiracy to misbranding drugs this week. 48-year-old Thad Manning reportedly admitted to allowing a pharmacy access to prescription drug samples. As a result, he made a quarter-million dollars, which he has now agreed to pay. His sentencing is set for July. Media is also reporting Manning has entered into a drug rehab center for an addiction to hydrocodone.

Gas Prices on the Rise

Gas prices in the area have jumped once again. Gas prices on Thursday morning around town in Paintsville were an average of about $3.65 per gallon of regular unleaded. Prices are now averaging about twenty cents per gallon higher here in Paintsville at about $3.85 at some stations. reports the lowest gas prices in the state can be found in Middlesboro where unleaded gas is running at $3.35 per gallon.

Former Clay County Basketball Standout Killed

A sad story out of Clay County…a former high school basketball star has died after a hunting accident on Thursday morning. 28-year-old Brian Griffin died after a shooting near Fogertown. Investigators do not suspect foul play and say they believe this was an accident. Griffin was hunting with two other men. One of those other two was also shot and at last check was in stable condition at UK Hospital.